Song Update: “The Path of the Moon”

I live! What with Thanksgiving plans interrupting my normal posting schedule, and general job mayhem, I’ve gone a month without posting. My bad, everyone. To make up for it, I will post one of the ones I have been trying to save for a while, because I really like this one. Another FAWM song it is.

This is based on Latvian mythology. I wanted to branch out a little from the typical Greek sources I’ve been using. For those wondering who Laima is, she’s the Baltic goddess of fate, death, and a host of other things. The song can be appreciated without knowing this, but I give you extra info because yay! Extra Info! 🙂

I hope you enjoy.

The Path of the Moon
by Gabrielle G.

I watch you tread the path of brightness,
Through the sky to the other side,
You hang your belt upon the tree
And wait for the coming tide,

Beyond the linden none will go
But you and those whose tales are done,
That secret sea is barred from me
For my love of the sun.

Walk the trail, and carry all your souls beneath the waves,
They will pay their last respects unto the tree which damns or saves,
For Laima’s linden lives to keep
The remnants of what humans reap,
And by her tree the waves are nigh,
The place my hoping goes to die.

I have my own bright trail to follow,
But it never crosses paths with yours,
When Earth was born, I knew you,
Two lights dancing on the shores,

Intertwined like ivy vines,
We circled through the dark as one,
I was a fool to see another star
Besides the sun.

Walk the trail, and carry all your souls beneath the waves,
They will pay their last respects unto the tree which damns or saves,
For Laima’s linden lives to keep
The remnants of what humans reap,
And by her tree, I cannot pass,
I’m bound to break like frozen glass.

The morning star is quite alluring,
But she tempts my heart no more,
Only you can hold my gaze,
But I’m torn, just as before,

Not by two who mesmerize,
But by my consequences won,
And every month, I’m rarely whole,
Divided by the sun.

Walk the trail, and carry all your souls beneath the waves,
They will pay their last respects unto the tree which damns or saves,
For Laima’s linden lives to keep
The remnants of what humans reap,
And from her tree, I am kept far,
Severed for love of a star.

Walk the trail, and carry all your souls beneath the waves,
They will pay their last respects unto the tree which damns or saves,
Out on the edge of day, the tree
That Laima loves is growing free,
But I must go from half to none,
Because I’ll always love the sun.

One thought on “Song Update: “The Path of the Moon”

  1. Pingback: Song Update: “Morning Star” | Waking Dreams

Leave a Reply

