Song Update: “Lethe”

And it’s been long enough. For my next trick, I will give you a little taste of one trilogy that left a mark on me many years ago. If you haven’t read Prospero’s Children by Jan Siegel, I would highly recommend the first two books. The third is ok, but parts of it were a bit overdone. It’s worth reading if you want to know what happens in the end. Well, I’m about to tell you what happens in the end, because it was that part of Book 3 that really made me think.

SPOILER ALERT

This song is from the main character Fern’s perspective. It’s the very last scene in the entire book, hence the spoiler alert. It tells you almost nothing about the rest of the trilogy’s plot, though, so I’d call this one acceptable to post. 😛 If you don’t get the Greek mythology reference, I’d suggest you look up the title of this song. Everything will become clear.

Without further ado, here is one of my few true filks.

Lethe (based on The Witch Queen by Jan Siegel)
by Gabrielle G.

It’s late and it’s cold in this room all alone,
But no one can ever dissuade me from this,
This moment I’ve longed for when music intones
In my mind and my heart like the winter’s last kiss,

For memories hinder the brave from their wishes
And all poignant moments leave some form of scar,
It’s never exactly the same as you tend to recall,

I drank of raw magic, I tasted of power,
I’ve burned far too quickly, the ravenous star
That bursts into particles hardly existing at all.

So here’s to life, to now, to the present,
To a story that I’ve yet to tell,
I’ll drink to all that’s brought me here,
To remember, for one last farewell.

It’s late Christmas Eve, and I just said goodbye,
My final acknowledgement of the arcane,
My small friend appeared, and left not knowing why
I told him that I could not see him again,

For memories hinder the pure from their virtue,
And friends are poor solace for love that’s destroyed,
The happier fragments of life always fade with the morn,

We traded our gifts before entering midnight,
That hour when my years will be cast to the void
Of Hell and betrayal, and one man who can’t be reborn.

So here’s to life, to now, to the present,
To a story that I’ve yet to tell,
I’ll drink to all that’s brought me here,
To remember, for one last farewell.

I traveled the ages, I warred with a demon,
But one man was torn from my arms by time’s toll,
For all that I’ve wished him to live and return,
I’m branded by one whose deception still burns,
Pretender, you’d never come close to his soul,
You’d sold yours for power with which I am done.

So here’s to life, to now, to the present,
To a story that’s not written yet,
I’ll drink to all the future brings,
To remember, and now to forget.

One thought on “Song Update: “Lethe”

  1. Pingback: Song Update: “Castalia” | Waking Dreams

Leave a Reply

