Song Update: “The Deadliest Poison”

So I seem to have this bad habit of going far too long between posts. In this case, I blame the onslaught of physical health issues that required some family assistance. I hope things are looking up from here on out.

But I have another FAWM song for you! Yup, it’s about Greek mythology. Who could’ve guessed? 😛 I did this one during my concert back in July. I like writing from alternate points of view, so why not twist up the Hercules story a little bit? The guy was always kind of a jerk, after all.

Anywho. Here’s my take.

The Deadliest Poison
by Gabrielle G.

What a surprise, seeing you here,
After your exploits and feats of great might,
I had thought you would never arrive.

Laboring tirelessly through every year,
Always too ready to take on a fight,
Whether reasoned or plainly contrived.

The deadliest poison hides inside ambition,
A little might spur you to transcend most men,
In high concentrations, it alters your vision
And leads you to suffer ‘till you reach the end.

Here, now, deep in the blackness
You see what you could not before,
Do not mind if I gloat
At the future you wrote,
Were you really expecting much more?

What sweet revenge, seeing your face
After the shame and the pain I once knew
Just for stealing from Lerna for food.

In your small view, I took up space,
I never did anything to harm you,
And your arrows and swords were quite rude.

We joined in the battle, and then one by one
You cut off my heads, set my blood flowing free,
Over my body, you thought it was fun
To use what sustained me to slay those like me.

Here, now, deep in the blackness
You see what you could not before,
Do not mind if I gloat
At the future you wrote,
Were you really expecting much more?

Look in the stars, our signs are clear,
Men will think you lived a triumphant life,
But I know what has truly transpired.

My lethal blood’s why you are here,
Passed to your shirt by your ignorant wife,
There’s no more that I could have desired.

Everyone doubtlessly thinks you divine,
I know you’re down with the rest of the dead,
You were the one who made our fates entwine,
You are the monster—you took your own head.

Here, now, deep in the blackness
You see what you could not before,
Do not mind if I gloat
At the future you wrote,
Were you really expecting much more?

Leave a Reply

