Happy New Year, and a Song Update

Greetings, interwebs! It has been far too long, and I wanted to start off fresh today. It’s 2017, and I am halfway through a cup of coffee. 😀

One reason why I have been absent for 3-ish months is something I am slightly embarrassed to admit. I am running out of songs that fit the description of “imagined worlds.” I do have other songs, they just aren’t about fantasy or mythology, so I decided to set them apart from this blog.

The other reason is something I am rather pleased about. As of about 1.5 weeks ago, I have a finished draft of the first novel I ever conceived of. This is Tawny’s story, which some of you might recall from some song posts that are no longer public (I don’t want to give everything away to everyone. 😛 ). I plugged away at it for long enough, and now I have results, praise the compy.

Since I finished the draft, I have been a little stranded in the writing arena. I decided I needed to go back to songs, and this was what came out. A song about the experience of returning to an old friend who I thought might never come fully to life. This song is for all the little fantastical voices in my head that want to be free.

One Path for You
by Gabrielle G.

Once I laid the foundations for a journey,
A tale told only in my waking dreams,
Once I made the beginnings of a yearning
Into song and story that were my sunbeams,

In dark days I could glimpse beyond the window,
I saw light I knew no one else could see,
I heard tunes spun of smoke and glancing shadow,
In the fires of imagined fantasy.

I swore that I would not forget them,
That they’d never fade away,
A promise whispered in my head I know they heard me say,

There is only one path for you,
And I know someday, I will make that path come true,
There is only one life to spend,
And I’ll give that life to you, my loyal friend,
Do not bend,
Do not end,
There is but one path for you.

Once I wove a great forest in the starlight,
A vast world that converged with all the rest,
Once I strove to keep burning through the far light
Of a hero who I would put to the test,

As years passed, I would stand and I would stumble,
Her heart beat alongside mine as I went,
Would I lose her among the rain and rumble
Of the storms outside my mind that won’t relent.

I swore that I would not forget her,
Or the ones she walked beside,
They all had their own tales that would have vanished, so I cried,

There is only one path for you,
And I know someday, I will make that path come true,
There is only one life to spend,
And I’ll give that life to you, my loyal friend,
Do not bend,
Do not end,
There is but one path for you.

Now I turn to the past and to tomorrow,
And I see what has been and what must be,
And I yearn to give back what I still borrow,
As of now, she lives in hidden words and me,

It won’t be very long until my reader
Has seen all of her pages, and replies,
And I’ll save this first tale in prose and meter,
She’s ignited something timeless that can’t die.

I swore that I would grant them better
Than confinement in my heart,
I made good on my promise that I gave her at the start,

There is only one path for you,
And I know someday, I will make that path come true,
There is only one life to spend,
And I’ll give that life to you, my loyal friend,
Do not bend,
Do not end,
There is but one path for you,

Do not fear,
You are here,
There is but one path for you.

Leave a Reply

