Giving it another go + a recording!

Hi, interwebs. I am alive, and I am still writing songs. I guess I felt for a while that this blog was not generating enough interest to be worth it. But I’m giving it another go, as the title indicates. I may be editing the title of the blog in the near future, just to encompass some other aspects of my writing besides songs. We’ll see where the wind takes me. 🙂

For your listening pleasure, I am including my favorite song from this year’s FAWM output. I am rather pleased with how the recording turned out, and I wanted to share it with you. This song was inspired both by the first challenge topic (which was “Dreams”) and by my own frustration and sadness at the state of the worlds, outside and inside, if you will. Take what you wish from it. It’s open to interpretation.

Incidentally, thank you for staying with me. Or just having a first look. I am more than grateful to anyone who stops by this neglected corner of blogdom. I am armed with a broom, a dust mask, and hope.

Stay
by Gabrielle G.

I had a nightmare yesterday, I dreamt I lost my way,
The colors of my blazing candle faded into gray,
I had a moment in the dark when I believed in fear,
The threads that weave my being whole had all but disappeared.

I woke to see the world in flames,
And question what is real,
Some say I’ve too much stock in dreams,
And all that they reveal,

But dreams are stars,
Twinkling, burning, leaving scars,
But dreams are cast by something,
Shadows of these lives of ours,

But dreams are true,
Stark reflections of what’s you,
And if the world’s caught fire today,
What, if not our dreams, will stay?

I had a vision as I slept, I saw the height of men,
The rise and fall of empires that will die and come again,
I had a future all planned out, the path was clear as glass,
My own designs would pave the way and leave light where I pass,

I woke to crushing doubt and shame,
And question what I feel,
Some say I’ve too much stock in dreams,
And all that they conceal,

But dreams are stars,
Twinkling, burning, leaving scars,
But dreams are cast by something,
Shadows of these lives of ours,

But dreams are true,
Stark reflections of what’s you,
And if the world’s caught fire today,
What, if not our dreams, will stay?

We are what dreams are made of,
Dust and wind and motes of sun,
We’re not content enough,
If so, then fear has won,

We are what dreams are made of,
Underneath debris, we shine,
Our edges are still rough,
But we’ll be polished fine.

We are what dreams are made of,
We fulfill what we demand,
We are the stars above,
In dreaming, we withstand.

For dreams are stars,
Twinkling, burning, leaving scars,
For dreams are cast by something,
Shadows of these lives of ours,

For dreams are true,
Stark reflections of what’s you,
And if the world’s caught fire today,
What, if not our dreams, will stay?

Leave a Reply

