Song Update: “Sky-Writer”

I almost overlooked this one! As I sifted through the songs I have not yet shared in some attempt to find ones that fit the theme of this blog, I came across a fairly obvious contender. FAWM 2016 was a bit of a hit-or-miss year for me, but when I did get a hit, I liked what came out. This song is more thoughtful than fantastical, per se, but it’s about leaving a legacy through writing and music. What’s more fitting than that?

Enjoy. 🙂

Sky-Writer
by Gabrielle G.

The airplane flying over leaves a white trail,
A cloud that fades before the others do,
As if a line break drawn on heaven’s paper,
A wordless streak of sentiment on blue,

Ephemeral whenever wind is blowing,
Replaced by nothing when the echo’s gone,
The traces of one flight are much like music played,
The memory will linger come next dawn.

I strive to sing the melody that will be heard again,
The one that people hum, but don’t know why,
So fleeting, yet with notes that last forever when
I must become a writer in the sky.

You cannot touch the sunset or the rainbow,
They hover somewhere we will never know,
We long to grasp the light between our fingers
But settle for the warmth it leaves below,

The image left in spots when we are blinking
Is stamped upon the space behind our eyes,
All beauty crumbles, as all lives must end in time,
But all that has been lived through never dies.

I strive to sing the melody that will be heard again,
The one that people hum, but don’t know why,
So fleeting, yet with notes that last forever when
I must become a writer in the sky.

I strive to leave my mark in what can’t be contained
Or broken by the years that will pass by,
What’s known in seconds is all that will be sustained
When I become that writer in the sky.

Leave a Reply

